Bill ‘Dinho’ Baita: I am the future

One of the reasons why the Black Stars performed so well at the 2010 FIFA World Cup was because the coach gave the youth a chance. Players like Dede Ayew,Jonathan Mensah,Samuel Inkoom and Kwadwo Asamoah did not disappoint.

Already a firm favourite with the MK Dons faithful, Accra native,Bill Baita has also been impressing in the ‘’wilderness’’ of Ghana soccer.The 16-year-old winger is eager to make his name in the footballing world. Little wonder, then, that he was all smiles when speaking exclusively to Socceringhana about his life in Ghana and the recent upturn in the fortunes of the Black Stars.

Socceringhana: Bill, it’s been four months now since I got to know you. How are things going at MK Dons?
Bill Baita: Very well! I’m really happy at my club.

Socceringhana:Footballers in Ghana are used to nicknames like Pele,Rooney,Ronaldo,etc. What is your nickname?

Bill Baita: Dinho.I wish to be like Ronalinho.I only I could have 30% of his skills.

When did you start playing football? Haha,right after I started walking.I was born with a ball at my feet.lol!

What is your favourite football team?
The Blues of Chelsea is my favourite team. My countryman Michael Essien inspires me and has made me realize that one can achieve anything in life with determination.

What is your first World Cup experience?
France ’98 .I still remember players like Michael Owen,Ronaldo,Batistuta, Hagi and Kluivert.

the future in my hands

the future in my hands

There are rumours you are friends with Dede Ayew,how true is that?
Yes he is a friend who is trying to help me make it in life with football.I am very proud of what he has achieved. I always pray for him.

What is your educational background?I’m a Senior High School (SHS) student.

Which team would you love to play one day?
I would love to play for Chelsea one day alongside Michael Essien.

 

 

Is there another league you’d  like to play in?
I’ve never made a secret of the fact that I like the Spanish La Liga but it’s never happened. I’ll take whatever comes.

Who is your football icon?Ronaldinho. The guy could do anything with the world. He was awesome.

How do you think African football is doing in general right now?
Well we are still a developing continent and with the 2010 world cup hosted here in Africa it has brought so much change and with modern infrastructure and facilities needed to breed young players are been put in place. So I think we are on track and in some few years to come Africa will produce stars that no one ever imagined.

How do you see the Black Stars in 5 yeas time?

I see Ghana as a great force in world football,second to none.I hope to captain the Black Stars one day.I just pray the problems at the GFA get fixed as soon as possible.We also have to find a new coach as quickly as possible.

Finally, who do you think will be stepping up to collect the FIFA Ballon d’Or 2010 on 10 January?
If you’re looking at actual quality then Lionel Messi is the best as far as I’m concerned: the things he can do with the ball are just incredible.

Thanks for  your co-operation and I wish you good luck

Leave a Reply

