Arsenal youngster Frimpong chooses Ghana over England

Arsenal’s Ghana-born midfielder Emmanuel Frimpong has confirmed his desire to play for the Black Stars despite representing England at junior level.The 19-year-old is in the treatment room and making good progress from a cruciate ligament injury suffered at training in August last year.The youngster has turned down numerous overtures from the Ghana federation to play for the junior sides insisting he will only play for the Black Stars.“I have always said all along that I will play for Ghana no matter what, my entire family members are Ghanaians. It just happen that I came here very young age and so my home and most of my family are all in Ghana,” Frimpong said.“From what I believe I am a Ghanaian and so if the authorities call on me I will not hesitate at all to play for the Black Stars.“Indeed when they contacted me I told them I will not play for any of the junior sides except the national team. But at the moment I’ve represented England at the juvenile level and so that has made a bit complicated..“But anytime I’ve been asked by my family, they know I will play for the Black Stars and that’s my desire.”Frimpong joined the English side in the summer of 2008 and Arsenal, keen on retaining the services of the youngster, offered him a professional contract in February of 2007, just a month after his 17th birthday.

Leave a Reply

