Italian football’s Oscar del Calcio awards were held on Monday night as Milan dominated the proceedings.There were nine categories awarded in the 15th edition of Serie A’s annual Player of the Year awards held in Milan, with the winners chosen from a confirmed list of nominees announced in December.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic won the Best Foreign Player and Best Player, while Thiago Silva won Best Defender and Massimiliano Allegri Best Coach. Stephan El Shaarawy, currently at Milan, was awarded the Best Serie B Player prize for his spell at Padova and the Stadio Giuseppe Meazza outfit had the most players in the team of the year.

Kwadwo Asamoah’s Udinese’s stellar 2011 was highlighted with the Best Club award, while Samir Handanovic won Best Goalkeeper.Fabio Cannavaro and Alessandro Del Piero were crowned with a special lifetime achievement award whilst Fabio Capello was given a special Critics Award.

Controversial Kevin Prince Boateng made the team of the year.

Team of the Year: Samir Handanovic; Christian Maggio, Thiago Silva, Alessandro Nesta (tied with Andrea Ranocchia), Pablo Armero; Marek Hamsik, Kevin-Prince Boateng, Thiago Motta (tied with Claudio Marchisio); Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Edinson Cavani, Antonio Di Natale.